Learn Portuguese in Lisbon Home » School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials

School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials


Check our Reviews and Testimonials from all over the World!

We encourage our students to share their experience with Portuguese Connection Language School. If you are one, or have been a student, you can share your experiences by clicking here!


Reviews left on our Website

Giulia Oberti, Italy 2015-09-07 08:26:24

I spend every summer learning a language in a foreign country since I was 16 and this 5 weeks at Portuguese Connection went far beyond my expectations.
I started as a complete beginner (meaning I could barely smile when somebody asked me how was my day) and a left yesterday with a B1 certificate.
Both the school and the classes are small, which I learned by experience is a major pro since you have the chance to speak more, practise more, exercise more.
Raquel and Joana are both great and dedicated teachers, always arranging interesting classes according to your goals and always with a smile on their face: my very first day I would never thought I would be able to speak by the end of my stay, but they helped me any time I had dubts, made me improve quickly and made grammar more comprehensible by explaining not only the rules but also the logic process behind that.
The whole staff is always really welcoming, positive and helpful: Laorie was always there to answer my questions, Marco has great tips for everything (totally earned the nickname WikiMarco) and if you are planning to visit the country you should definitely ask Joana her To Do List about Porto and rely on Raquelif you’re going to spend a weekend in Algarve.
The relationship with all the staff goes far beyond the student-teacher bond and all of them will make you fall in love not only with the language, but also with the city, the country and the culture.
So thanks to all at once at to each one of you, guys: até a pròxima 


Katarina, Republic of Belarus 2015-09-02 17:48:23

I am so glad that I have taken a course with Portuguese Connection Language School. I started from scratch as a complete beginner but after just a two weeks intensive course was able to speak. For the record, the lady doing check-in at the airport on my way back was very impressed!:-) Everyone at the school is so nice and helpful and really does care about their students. What I also appreciate is that the course is flexible in the meaning that it is adjusted to your needs. Apart from the language course itself, the school also offers a range of different free of charge activities after classes such as for example sightseeing. The last but not least, Lisbon is simply an amazing place, full of colours, sun, almost tangible light, sounds and quiteness at the same time. It has so much to offer. Take your time to discover its beautiful soul!


Marco Iacopini, Italy 2015-09-01 04:32:02

Hi, my experience was really good, in three weeks i was able to progress of a full level if not more and i left Lisbon actually speaking some portuguese. I definitely recommend this school. Excellent location as well. Cheers;


Katrin Ver, Russia 2015-08-31 13:44:18

Amazing school in the centre of Lisbon with great friendly open and very kind teachers who could managed increase my level of Portuguese as from Earth to the Moon :)) every week the teachers switch that's why you gonna have an an option to talk and work with different person and his manner of teaching, and, of course it helps to improve your skills in talking and understanding other Portuguese people. The great idea is that explanations are mostly in Portuguese so you are fully going inside the language. I enjoyed a lot! Thanks so much! beijos


Michael Guthrie, UK 2015-08-31 13:42:29

Great language school. Staff were so friendly. Carla was a great teacher.


Thomas, Ireland 2015-08-20 18:23:44

I spent three weeks studying as a complete beginner and thoroughly enjoyed my experience with the school, location was accessible and in a pleasant area with the classrooms well lit naturally. The school has a very comfortable and personal atmosphere with the staff being very hospitable and enthusiastic for their work above and beyond their duty. Would certainly recommend to anyone interested in engaging with the language and Portuguese culture.


Sophia Nzeribe, UK 2015-08-05 16:51:50

I came to study Portuguese for a week as a way of starting out with a new language. I did a combined course which included art lessons in the evenings. I went alone and was feeling slightly nervous as a result but the staff were so friendly and welcoming and after only five days I felt like I had known them all for ages. Joanna was an amazing teacher who encouraged, stretched and challenged us, she had a wonderful way of making you feel comfortable and confident and has an amazing knowledge of the origins and theory behind the language as well as its use. My Portuguese friends were impressed and surprised at how much I had learnt in just a week. Laurie and Marco were always so friendly and helpful. Paula my art teacher really helped and encouraged me to begin drawing and painting again after years of doing nothing and I was able to practice the art of Portuguese tile painting. I feel really grateful for the opportunity to study and intensive course and get quality teaching in such a lovely relaxed environment. I recommend this school for anyone wanting to learn Portuguese in Lisbon.


Alek Wobeck, USA 2015-08-04 17:52:39

I spent four weeks doing the combined classes, and I could not be happier with the results! Portuguese Connection completely exceeded my expectations! Towards the end of my time in Lisbon, I started receiving compliments from locals that I spoke clearly and understandably. Joana and Raquel are both incredible teachers that offered challenging and interesting lessons. The school has a welcoming atmosphere with attentive staff. It is located in a lovely area close to many cute shops and restaurants. I also decided to take some surfing lessons and would definitely recommend them to those who are interested. I was so pleased by my experience that I am continuing with Online Lessons now that I am back in the US. Muito Obrigado! -Alek


Andrea, Italy 2015-07-29 15:13:27

Our office organised a two months Portuguese course for us international employees! We had the fortune to end up with Joana, the most patient and motivated Portuguese teacher on earth!!! Thank you Joana and Portuguese Connection! :)


Ikuko, Japan 2015-07-24 09:47:33

I enjoyed it!! 旅行で3週間ほどポルトガルに滞在する予定でしたが、英語が通じない時がたまにあり、リスボンにいる間、挨拶程度でもポルトガル語を勉強してみることにしました。Portuguese Connectionでは生徒のスケジュールに合わせて1週間から授業をしてくれました。 ジョアナ先生と1週間授業してみて、最初はなんのことやらさっぱりで、うわ、難しい!と思っていたのですが、4日ほど経つと、先生の言っていることが少しずつ分かるようになってきました!宿題もありましたが、基本的な言葉の仕組みを学べました。しばらくぶりに語学を勉強してみてリフレッシュでき、これからも少しずつ勉強を続けていきたい、と思います!