Learn Portuguese in Lisbon Home » School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials

School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials


Check our Reviews and Testimonials from all over the World!

We encourage our students to share their experience with Portuguese Connection Language School. If you are one, or have been a student, you can share your experiences by clicking here!


Reviews left on our Website

Gisela Jaeger, Germany 2014-11-07 09:20:11

Este verano he vuelto a ir a un curso de portugués de Joana. Otra vez ha sido una experiencia óptima, pues Joana es sumamente competente en la materia tratada y sabe transmitirla de una forma muy clara y con muchos ejemplos. Además es una "chica" carinosa con sus alumnos y siempre está alegre. Así sus clases son sumamente amenas. Y por la tarde Joana hizo también de guía por el centro de Lisboa... He vuelto a aprender un montón!!! No será la última vez que me apunto a un curso suyo....


Anna, Germany 2014-11-04 10:46:25

Unfortunately I could only spend one week with Joana learning Portuguese. I learnt a lot and Joana is a competent, motivating and encouraging teacher. Her classes were never boring and she has the capability to explain complex issues clearly. She was very responsive to each student and answered even my 100th question patiently. I`m very happy to have chosen “Portuguese Connection” and definitely come back! Até logo!


Raquel, Spain 2014-06-11 10:15:00

Hi Joana... I am so happy to hear you have your own school!!! I wish you all the luck under the rainbow...you are such an enthusiastic and passionate teacher that I know your school will be a great success! It would be lovely meeting you again. I would recommend your school to anybody that wishes to learn Portuguese....My week in Porto with you was an unforgettable experience....R aquel


Sydney, USA 2014-05-30 15:00:00

I was fortunate to have classes with Joana on two different occasions, and I have experienced her teaching style in group settings, one-on-one settings, and in courses that did not revolve around language acquisition such as phonetics. As a teacher myself, I can say that Joana is very organized and creative in the classroom. She really goes out of her way to make sure you achieve your goals. She is a wonderful person, and she really helped to enhance my language learning experience in Portugal. I guarantee you that she knows what she is doing, and it is great that she has opened her own school.


Cynthia, United Kingdom 2014-05-29 13:36:00

Joana is one of the most gifted teachers I have ever had - she is passionate about teaching and ensuring that her students can learn. If one explanation or example doesn't work, she can present things again another way, till a student gets it. Her teaching methods are very creative - like listening to Rui Veloso (a popular singer) for listening comprehension practice, or visiting local sights or events. Most importantly, she encourages her students - I have never been afraid to try to speak Portuguese, unlike my experience learning French which left me terriried to try to speak. If you need to learn Portuguese - starting at any level - Joana is your best bet.


Antonio, Italy 2014-05-24 18:27:00

I was able to meet the culture, the people, the food and wine of Portugal through the musicality, expressiveness and passion of the wonderful Portuguese language. A big thank you to Joana, who with her enthusiasm, professionalism , expertise and human connection makes each lesson a time for learning, sharing and reflection. Great! Até breve Una delle esperienze di studio della lingua straniera più belle e coinvolgenti in assoluto. Ho potuto incontrare la cultura, la gente, il cibo e il vino del meraviglioso Portogallo attraverso la musicalità, l'espressività e la passione della lingua portoghese. Un grandissimo grazie a Joana, che col suo entusiasmo, professionalità , esperienza ed empatia umana riesce a rendere ogni singola lezione un momento di apprendimento, di scambio e di riflessione. Grandiosa!


Gisela, Germany/Spain 2014-05-06 18:47:00

Ich habe bereits in Hamburg bei unterschiedlich en Lehrern Portugiesisch gelernt und bin selber Spanischdozenti n: Der Unterricht bei Joana war spitzenmäßig: Sie ist äußerst qualifiziert und stets engagiert und es hat großen Spass gemacht. Ich habe in einer Woche mehr gelernt als in den 2 Jahren davor.Joana hat die Grammatik und die Ausspracheregel n (an denen mir besonders gelegen war)ausgesproch en klar vermittelt und mit entsprechenden Übungen gefestigt.Das war nicht mein letzter Kurs bei ihr!!


Stephan M., Vienna, Austria 2014-05-04 20:16:00

The week I spent in Joana's class was unique! It´s not only the way of teaching, but also the combination of her huge knowledge and love about the language, portuguese history and nice places (don´t miss her info about restaurants!) made it a lot of fun, too. Joana adapts very fast on the individual language skills. With great enthusiasm she encourages everyone to develop quickly and will not give up before you reach your goal. If you want to learn portuguese - portuguese connetion is the place to be! Die Woche, die ich mit Joana in einer Klasse verbringen durfte, war großartig! Nicht nur die Art, wie sie unterrichtet ist großartig, sondern die Kombination aus ihrem weitreichenden Wissen über die Sprache, portugiesische Geschichte und sehenswerte Orte (ihre Lokaltipps sind spitze!) haben diese Woche für mich und die anderen Studenten zu einer tollen und lustigen Wochen gemacht. Joana erfasst sehr schnell das individuelle Können ihrer Studenten und Studentinnen. Mit grosser Begeisterung versucht sie, das Beste aus jedem Einzelnen herauszuholen und gibt nicht auf, bevor sie das gewünschte Ziel erreicht hat. Wenn sie Portugiesisch lernen wollen - die Sprachschule von Joana kann ich wärmstens empfehlen!!


Alex F., Switzerland 2014-05-01 15:32:00

I learned Portuguese with Joana and I really appreciated her serious, passionate, open-minded way of teaching, her charismatic communication style and all the progress I made thanks to her work in the classroom. You will have an extremely well prepared teacher who will nevertheless always be attentive to her students' needs as she has a huge experience in teaching beginners as well as advanced and ambitioned learners. Moreover, she will make you laugh and have a good time in Lisbon! I can only recommend this great teacher and her school, without hesitating! Muito obrigado, Joana!


Marcos, España 2014-04-29 19:53:00

Olá caros estudantes de Portugues: Joana was my teacher 2 years ago, while I was in Porto learning Portuguese. Anything I could say about her would fall short of the real thing.I enjoyed her lessons enormously specially her passion to inculcate in me every meaning of various Portuguese words. It is very unusual nowadays to find someone like her really enjoying teaching their mother tongue. But then a salesman is convincing only if they love what they're selling. In a word - I most definitely would recommend her as a teacher.