Learn Portuguese in Lisbon Home » School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials

School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials


Check our Reviews and Testimonials from all over the World!

We encourage our students to share their experience with Portuguese Connection Language School. If you are one, or have been a student, you can share your experiences by clicking here!


Reviews left on our Website

Heidi Poelman, Belgium 2018-03-18 12:38:25

I choose Portuguese Connection based on the good reviews I read on the internet. I was not disappointed! I was a complete beginner and after a two weeks intensive course I am very satisfied with the level I reached. My teachers Susana, Marília and Sílvia were just great. Each of them had another approach and personality but all with a high pedagogical level and love for their job. I also appreciated the warm and friendly atmosphere in the school (thank you, Marco and Annalisa!). I would highly recommend this school if you want to learn Portuguese in Lisbon!


Hans-Jürgen Richter, Switzerland 2018-01-16 04:37:49

Since summer 2016 I followed three times a three week course-period at Portuguese Connection and probabely I will take another course in a while. I learned a lot and made much progress in an intense but also very relaxed and charming atmosphere. I made the experience of different teachers and all fullfilled highly my expectations. I felt always warmly welcomed and supported by all the members of Portuguese Connection. Até logo. Hans


Iris Karaman, Belgium 2018-01-09 11:58:09

I spent three incredible months at Portuguese Connection last year. I was a complete beginner when I started and left with a good level, having completed A1, A2, B1 and parts of B2. I can't stress enough how fantastic my teachers were. Many of them have a keen interest and postgraduate qualifications in linguistics and foreign languages (some of them speak over 6 languages!) which gives them a very deep understanding of the Portuguese language and the difficulties students face at different stages of learning. I spent most of my classes with a Finnish and a Japanese student (I'm a native French speaker), and it was very apparent that the teacher knew how to tailor their teaching to match each of our very distinctive needs.

I also really liked that we switches teachers each week, as each teacher emphasised different methods of learning. This ensured that we struck the right balance between different types of grammar, oral and conversational exercises.

I took the intensive course with private afternoon classes and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to learn the language quick. The private classes enabled me to really consolidate what I'd learned during the morning classes.

Alongside the quality of teaching, what makes this school truly special is the dynamic and friendly atmosphere created by the members of staff (and its four-legged resident, Maggie). Joanna, Marco and Annalisa are incredibly passionate about the school, and always went out of their way to ensure that everyone had a great experience of not just the school, but more broadly of Lisbon. Some of the best moments I had were during the weekly trips organised by Annalisa, in which we got to discover the city through the eyes of a local. Highlights included doing a Lisbon food tour of culinary staples discovering the many facets of Lisbon street art.

I also took art classes via the school, with a lovely artist called Paula. We practiced a variety of techniques and went to different museums and scenic spots to practice painting. I even got the chance to paint my own Azulejo, the characteristic blue tile found all over Lisbon.

To conclude, I can't recommend this school enough. I left with a solid base in Portuguese, a love of Lisbon and Portuguese culture and a longing to come back to the school as soon as possible.


Chanelle Barnes, South Africa 2018-01-08 13:27:17

I spent 2 weeks studying at Portuguese Connection, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are so warm and welcoming and the quality of teaching is phenomenal. It was also so lovely to meet so many other students from different walks of life. I definitely felt that my Portuguese improved significantly over those two weeks. If you are interested in improving your language skills, discovering a new city, and meeting new people, I can wholeheartedly recommend Portuguese Connection!


Oliver Mendoza, Australia 2017-12-07 04:38:12

I chose to study at Portuguese Connection - for two weeks in November 2017 -mainly because of the extremely positive reviews I read online. I was not disappointed. The school is exactly as others have described - a very friendly place filled with approachable, enthusiastic teachers who do their very best to help you learn. The fact that it is centrally located, close to public transport and cultural attractions, is a bonus. I had a fantastic experience at Portuguese Connection, and highly recommend the school to others.


Bjorn Forsgren, Sweden 2017-11-22 03:47:12

This is the best school if you want to learn Portuguese! I have been to many language schools and speak now seven languages. No one of the others are half as good as Portuguese Connection. We spend 6 weeks in wonderful Lisbon and after this six weeks course I can already express myself and understand much better Portuguese. Our idea is to move to Lisbon and once we are there the first thing we will do is to register at Portuguese Connection. It is a young team of very dinamic, open and indeed very nice people. Everything works smoothfully and the qualifications of the teachers is exceptional. Don't hesitate, join them as soon as possible!


Alexander Kovalenko, USA 2017-11-21 12:06:33

I studied for a week with Portuguese Connection from November 13 to November 17. I had a great experience learning the language and interacting with both the teachers as well as the fellow students. I truly appreciate the school being able to accommodate me on such short notice and would recommend this school to anyone who is interested in learning Portuguese among a great group of people!


Basil Timpson, UK 2017-11-13 05:36:10

If you've are looking to study Portuguese in Lisbon then I highly recommend Portuguese Connection. The staff are incredibly friendly and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They will speak to you only in Portuguese right from the very first day. The school also offers a variety of cultural tours to different parts of the city and surrounding areas. You can also do activities such as surfing at a discounted rate. The school is deservedly considered the best Portuguese school in Lisbon.


Maya Wertheim, Israel 2017-10-26 06:06:38

After studying at Portuguese Connection school for several weeks I am able to say that is is absolutely the right school to study at! The school is set in a great location, each one of the teachers at the school is amazing- so friendly and warm. The school is very flexible and accommodating to every request. The teaching method integrates different means of studying, especially ones that interest each student specifically (I learned using music, reading and talking amongst other more conventional methods, something tailored towards me and my interests and abilities). In conclusion- an amazing experience, somewhere I'll always be glad to return to!


Félix Morión Castilla, Spain 2017-10-04 15:21:43

If you ever think of learning Portuguese, this is definitely the best choice! They are excellent professionals very committed with the progress of their students, tracking the evolution of each of them and adapting the lessons to their needs. The groups are organized in small groups, which makes the learning process easier and faster. The atmosphere is just fantastic, you'll learn in a very friendly environment and will have the chance to participate in extra activities such city tours, visits to the surroundings of Lisbon and surf. I had no idea of Portuguese when I arrived and after a 3-week intensive course with them I'm currently fluent at Portuguese, in my opinion that just says it all. Therefore I strongly recommend this course not only because of the huge progress you'll experience, but also because you'll really enjoy it.