Learn Portuguese in Lisbon Home » School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials

School Reviews - Check our School reviews and testimonials


Check our Reviews and Testimonials from all over the World!

We encourage our students to share their experience with Portuguese Connection Language School. If you are one, or have been a student, you can share your experiences by clicking here!


Reviews left on our Website

Sandra, Germany 2018-05-02 08:38:16

I've joined two weeks of group and individual classes at Portuguese Connection and enjoyed every minute! The staff is friendly, helpful and anytime responsive. It's an outstanding relaxing atmosphere. The teachers are exceedingly competent and flexible to face the needs of every student. I've learned things I've never heard of when learning 1,5 years in Germany. Besides Lisboa is a beautiful place to explore innumerable sights. I could spend many weeks there always finding things to see and enjoy. Ich habe zwei Wochen am Gruppenunterricht sowie Einzelunterricht teilgenommen und jede Minute genossen. Alle Mitarbeitenden sind freundlich, hilfsbereit und für alle Fragen ansprechbar. Es herrscht eine ausgesprochen entspannte Atmosphäre. Alle Lehrer.innen sind kompetent und gehen auf die Bedürfnisse aller ein. Ich habe Dinge gelernt, von denen ich in 1,5 Jahren Unterricht in Deutschland nie gehört hatte. Außerdem ist Lisboa ein unglaublich schöner Ort mit unzähligen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Ich könnte Wochen dort verbringen und immer noch Dinge zum Ansehen und Genießen finden.


Leon Pompsch, Germany 2018-04-11 07:26:33

When I was in Lisbon, I did a two-week intensive course and had a great time at Portuguese Connection :) Very friendly atmosphere and nice location. My teachers Joana and Marilia made a great effort in teaching and I learned a lot. What I probably like the most was the fact that we talked a lot during the class and I could improve my skills in conversation a lot. I also liked the walking tours every week to different places around the city with Annalisa :) I can definitely recommend the school and will hopefully come back again.


Donna and Patrick Moore, USA (Hawaii) 2018-04-03 03:57:58

Fantastic school experience!!! My husband and I have a combined total of over 40 years experience teaching overseas and teaching English to international students. Portuguese Connection exceeded our expectations in every way. Highlights included small class size, excellent teachers and amiable staff. In class, teachers explained grammar with clarity and presented interesting lessons in a congenial manner. The teachers and staff at the school obviously enjoy sharing their language and culture. They provide a warm welcoming atmosphere for learning Portuguese! We had so much fun that we hope to return to learn more someday! We give Portuguese Connection our very highest recommendation!!


Masato Habbick, Japan 2018-03-22 05:40:16

私はポルトガルに来た時、ポルトガル語で「ありがとう」と言うことしか出来ませんでした。しかしPortugess Connectionで1日4時間のグループ学習を週に5日間通っていくうちに、たった3ヶ月程度で日常生活で困る事はあまり困らなくなりました。何故ならばこちらの学校は基本的な文法等をしっかり教えてくれるだけでなく、実際の生活でよく使う大事な言葉も重点的に教えてくれるからです。普段の生活で分からないことが会った時は翌日学校で聞いて、学んでいくのが習慣でした。 先生方は全員親切で明るく、日本のイメージしている学校の先生と生徒の関係よりも友人関係に近いくらいです。そして全員英語も話せます。(私は中学英語くらいしか話せなく、英語が話せないとしてもポルトガル語を学ぶには全く支障ありませんでした) また、こちらの学校は世界中の人達が通っています。グループ学習の場合同じレベルの人たちが集まって授業を受けるので、拙いポルトガル語しか話せないとしても、それまで習ったポルトガル語を使って他国の文化交流等も楽しめるのも魅力の1つです。 そしてコーヒーや多数の紅茶がいつでも飲み放題で、休憩時にはチョコレートやケーキ等も無料で食べることができます。 この学校で出来た友人と話していても、こんなに完璧な語学学校が他にあるとは思えないと話し合うほど、生徒みんなに愛される人達が働いている学校です。


Heidi Poelman, Belgium 2018-03-18 12:38:25

I choose Portuguese Connection based on the good reviews I read on the internet. I was not disappointed! I was a complete beginner and after a two weeks intensive course I am very satisfied with the level I reached. My teachers Susana, Marília and Sílvia were just great. Each of them had another approach and personality but all with a high pedagogical level and love for their job. I also appreciated the warm and friendly atmosphere in the school (thank you, Marco and Annalisa!). I would highly recommend this school if you want to learn Portuguese in Lisbon!


Hans-Jürgen Richter, Switzerland 2018-01-16 04:37:49

Since summer 2016 I followed three times a three week course-period at Portuguese Connection and probabely I will take another course in a while. I learned a lot and made much progress in an intense but also very relaxed and charming atmosphere. I made the experience of different teachers and all fullfilled highly my expectations. I felt always warmly welcomed and supported by all the members of Portuguese Connection. Até logo. Hans


Iris Karaman, Belgium 2018-01-09 11:58:09

I spent three incredible months at Portuguese Connection last year. I was a complete beginner when I started and left with a good level, having completed A1, A2, B1 and parts of B2. I can't stress enough how fantastic my teachers were. Many of them have a keen interest and postgraduate qualifications in linguistics and foreign languages (some of them speak over 6 languages!) which gives them a very deep understanding of the Portuguese language and the difficulties students face at different stages of learning. I spent most of my classes with a Finnish and a Japanese student (I'm a native French speaker), and it was very apparent that the teacher knew how to tailor their teaching to match each of our very distinctive needs.

I also really liked that we switches teachers each week, as each teacher emphasised different methods of learning. This ensured that we struck the right balance between different types of grammar, oral and conversational exercises.

I took the intensive course with private afternoon classes and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to learn the language quick. The private classes enabled me to really consolidate what I'd learned during the morning classes.

Alongside the quality of teaching, what makes this school truly special is the dynamic and friendly atmosphere created by the members of staff (and its four-legged resident, Maggie). Joanna, Marco and Annalisa are incredibly passionate about the school, and always went out of their way to ensure that everyone had a great experience of not just the school, but more broadly of Lisbon. Some of the best moments I had were during the weekly trips organised by Annalisa, in which we got to discover the city through the eyes of a local. Highlights included doing a Lisbon food tour of culinary staples discovering the many facets of Lisbon street art.

I also took art classes via the school, with a lovely artist called Paula. We practiced a variety of techniques and went to different museums and scenic spots to practice painting. I even got the chance to paint my own Azulejo, the characteristic blue tile found all over Lisbon.

To conclude, I can't recommend this school enough. I left with a solid base in Portuguese, a love of Lisbon and Portuguese culture and a longing to come back to the school as soon as possible.


Chanelle Barnes, South Africa 2018-01-08 13:27:17

I spent 2 weeks studying at Portuguese Connection, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are so warm and welcoming and the quality of teaching is phenomenal. It was also so lovely to meet so many other students from different walks of life. I definitely felt that my Portuguese improved significantly over those two weeks. If you are interested in improving your language skills, discovering a new city, and meeting new people, I can wholeheartedly recommend Portuguese Connection!


Oliver Mendoza, Australia 2017-12-07 04:38:12

I chose to study at Portuguese Connection - for two weeks in November 2017 -mainly because of the extremely positive reviews I read online. I was not disappointed. The school is exactly as others have described - a very friendly place filled with approachable, enthusiastic teachers who do their very best to help you learn. The fact that it is centrally located, close to public transport and cultural attractions, is a bonus. I had a fantastic experience at Portuguese Connection, and highly recommend the school to others.


Bjorn Forsgren, Sweden 2017-11-22 03:47:12

This is the best school if you want to learn Portuguese! I have been to many language schools and speak now seven languages. No one of the others are half as good as Portuguese Connection. We spend 6 weeks in wonderful Lisbon and after this six weeks course I can already express myself and understand much better Portuguese. Our idea is to move to Lisbon and once we are there the first thing we will do is to register at Portuguese Connection. It is a young team of very dinamic, open and indeed very nice people. Everything works smoothfully and the qualifications of the teachers is exceptional. Don't hesitate, join them as soon as possible!